Nevada’s Dram Shop Law Gives You Little Protection If a Drunk Driver Causes Your Crash

Henderson Personal Injury Lawyers Jones WilsonVictims of car accidents caused by drunk drivers can suffer even more horrific injuries than in other crashes because drunk drivers can make more deadly mistakes due to their intoxication. So of course accident victims need to turn to any potentially liable party in order to obtain all the compensation they need and deserve. What happens if the driver had been consuming alcohol at a bar or restaurant before the crash? Is the bar or restaurant partially responsible for compensating the accident victim if its employees continued to serve alcohol to the driver who was already intoxicated? In many states, the answer would be yes under the state’s dram shop law. Unfortunately, this is not the case in Nevada.

The Few Situations When Nevada’s Limited Dram Shop Law Applies

Nevada has a very limited dram shop law that only applies in a few circumstances. It provides for the following:

  • Specifically disallows a dram shop claim against a business or person who serves alcohol to someone who is 21 years old or older.
  • Allows a dram shop action to be filed against a business or person who sells, furnishes, or otherwise provides alcohol to a minor who is under the age of 21.
  • Allows a dram shop action against a social host who serves alcohol to a minor or allows him to consume alcohol on the person’s property.

What Compensation Can You Receive Under the Dram Shop Law?

If you are hit by a drunk driver who is under the age of 21 and was served alcohol in a bar or at a private party, you may be able to sue the business or the social host for damages. These include the following types of damages:

  • Medical expenses
  • Lost wages
  • Property damage
  • Pain and suffering
  • Punitive damages in limited cases to punish the business or person who furnished the alcohol.

Contact an Experienced Car Accident Attorney Soon to Not Miss the Deadline to Sue

The statute of limitations – or time period – to sue under Nevada’s dram shop law is in most cases two years from the date of the injury. Contact an experienced car accident attorney as soon as possible to not miss this important deadline in your case. Fill out our online form to schedule a free, no obligation consultation to learn how our firm can help you.

Why Work with us?

Finding the right lawyer to represent your injury case can be extremely frustrating. However, with 35 years worth of experience and insider knowledge of how insurance companies work, the Jones Wilson law firm stands out from the crowd. Other attorneys pick and choose their clients based on case notoriety, but we’re here to help you, no matter how large or small your case.
Call (702) 405-6000

Schedule a Free Consultation Today! No Fee Until We Win!