Nevada is a state full of wonderful sights and great people. However, not all of these people are extremely happy about the new law that took effect January 1, 2012. On this day, Nevada became part of the other 33 states to ban texting and talking on cell phones while driving. Other areas such as Guam, District of Columbia, the Virgin Islands, and nine other states have prohibited any use of handheld devices such as cell phones and PDAs while driving.
The following provisions were included with the law:
- The first offense is not a moving violation, or considered as such.
- GPS systems that are attached to the vehicle are acceptable and these laws will not apply.
- If you violated this law, after seven years you are considered a first time offender instead of a repeat offender.
- Two-way radios are permissible but only if it is not considered to be hand held with an exception to the microphone.
This law offers authorities in the state, and other states that have this ban, to pull over anyone suspected of driving while using a cell phone for texting or other purposes. However, it does give permission to those who have Bluetooth headsets or hands free headsets to use them while driving. Ultimately, drivers are not allowed to type or text with any device that is considered a communications device while driving. This also includes reading, texting, e-mailing, and instant messaging. Replying to a Facebook comment while you’re driving could cost you.
A major issue that is being seen with this law is that not everyone abides by it privately. People of all ages are guilty of hiding their phone to where it cannot be seen from an outside view. Hiding the phone allows them to read or text without the fear of being caught by the local police officers. With the ability for the police department to subpoena records from your cell phone company to prove the times you texted or received texts, it’s not worth hiding it.
Those who are caught using a cell phone for talking or texting purposes will be fined. The first fine can be up to $100, the second $200, and the third $250. However, upon the third offense the driver could have their license revoked or suspended. Nevada residents both agree and disagree with the ruling of this law. They expressed their concerns and agreement with the law while it was in discussion. This law has been in place for over a year now, but the statistics about driving while using these devices in relation accidents has been varied and unclear so far.
Have You Been Involved In A Henderson Or Las Vegas Car Accident?
If you've been injured in a car accident you need to speak with an experienced car accident lawyer as soon as possible. Contact us online or call our Henderson office directly at 702.405.6000 to schedule a free initial consultation.